Status of Women, Diversity and Equity Action Committee

SWDEAC Fall 2021 Meeting Schedule
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 at 10:30 a.m.
Friday, October 22, 2021 at 12:30 p.m.
Friday, November 19, 2021 at 1:00 p.m.
Friday, December 10, 2021 at 1:00 p.m.

If you would like to join the SWDEAC, please contact the WUFA office at ext. 3365 or email

SWDEAC 2021-2022

Brandi Lucier, VP SWDE

Women's & Gender Studies

Anna Lanoszka, WUFA President ex officio

Political Science

Nihar Biswas

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Xuexiu ChangGlier

Richard Douglass-Chin

English Language, Literature & Creative Writing
Rita HaaseWomen's and Gender Studies
Vicki Jay-LeungLibrary

Tranum Kaur

Chemistry & Biochemistry

Dana LevinSchool of Social Work
Rong LuoLibrary

Sharon Munro


Victoria Paraschak


Roozbeh Razavi FarFaculty of Engineering

Iris Xu

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Shuzhen Zhao


Mary Lou Dietz Equity Leadership Award 2022

The Mary Lou Dietz Equity Award is a prestigious award that was established to honour the memory of Mary Lou Dietz.  The Windsor University Faculty Association’s Status of Women, Diversity and Equity Action Committee bestows the award each year to honour individuals who demonstrate leadership through their contributions to creating an equity culture on campus.  Eligible candidates must be a current, former or a retired Windsor Univesity Faculty Association (WUFA) member who demonstrates the spirit of equity leadership exemplified by accomplishments or contributions. Nominations for the award may be submitted by Faculty, Staff, Administration, Corporations, Tribunals, Student Groups or any other interested parties or individuals.  Committee members to be confirmed Fall 2021.

Mary Lou Dietz Equity Leadership Award

This award is given by the University of Windsor Faculty Association in honour of Mary Lou Dietz, BA. MA. PhD., who was a faculty member and Department Head of Sociology and Anthropology at the University of Windsor. Dr. Dietz served on WUFA's Executive and council numerous times. In 1972 she lobbied for and became a founding member of WUFA's Status of Women Committee. Dr. Dietz helped to establish an executive position of Vice-President, Women's Issues within the faculty association and was the first person elected to this office. Dr. Dietz was involved in collective bargaining as a member of the Contract Committee and the Negotiating Committee, and she was Chief Negotiator in the year that our pay anomaly fund for women was established. In 1994, Mary Lou Dietz was awarded the CAUT Sarah Shorten Award, in recognition of her outstanding achievements in the promotion of the advancement of women in Canadian universities and colleges. She passed away December 29, 2008.

Previous Recipients

2021 - The 2020 award presentation was held no call for nominations in 2021 due to COVID-19

2020 - Dr. Catherine Hundleby, Philosophy

2019 - Dr. Ben C. H. Kuo, Psychology

2018 - Dr. Laverne Jacobs, Faculty of Law

2017 - Dr. Victoria Paraschak, Human Kinetics

2016 - Dr. Anne Forrest, Women's and Gender Studies

2015 - Dr. Andrew Allen, Faculty of Education

2014 - Dr. Lynda D. Corkum, Faculty of Science

2013 - Dr. Richard Moon, Faculty of Law

2012 - Dr. Angela Sodan, Faculty of Computer Science

2011 - Dr. Margery J. Holman, Faculty of Human Kinetics

2010 - removed by request