Racial Justice Committee

In April 2021, the WUFA membership voted to make the Racial Justice Committee a permanent committee in WUFA’s Constitution & Bylaws.   The Racial Justice Committee’s mandate is to ensure racial justice, inclusion, substantive equality, and equity in the workplace and in the Association for Black, Indigenous, and Persons of Colour (BIPOC) WUFA members, regarding teaching, research, librarianship, hiring, administrative services, any other types of work performed by the BIPOC WUFA members, and resources. Its mandate consists of fighting for just and fair treatment, transparency and challenging racism, white privilege, and all forms of oppression on behalf of all BIPOC WUFA members.   

The Committee monitors the activities of the University community and will make recommendations concerning equity, substantive egalitarianism, and social justice for BIPOC faculty to the WUFA Executive Committee, contract, and grievance, hiring, and other committees of the Association, within the context of the Collective Agreement and the collective bargaining process. 

WUFA members are always welcome to join the Committee by contacting the Chair or the WUFA office. 

2022-2023 Membership
:  Richard Douglass-Chin, English/Women's & Gender Studies

Imran Abdool, Economics
Yasser Alginahi, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Ronjon Paul Datta, Sociology, Anthropology & Criminology
John Deukmedjian, Sociology, Anthropology & Criminology
Catherine Hundleby, Philosophy
Pardeep Jasra, School of the Environment
Thomas Kenworthy, Odette School of Business
Karen Mossman, Faculty of Education
Francisca Omorodion, Sociology, Anthropology & Criminology
Ashlyne O’Neil,  Office of Open Learning
Gurupdesh Pandher, Odette School of Business
Rajesh Seth, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Urvashi Soni-Sinha, Women's and Gender Studies

Peter Voyer, Odette School of Business